Years of academy training wasted…

and other picked up pieces…

Woodworking

…and other craft is ultimately an exercise in patience.

DSC04134

 

Working on some old window sash recently with my wife-who has INFINITELY more patience than I do–it occured to me just how much I had to recalibrate after a summer of swinging axes, running saws, and pounding chisels. I learn a lot watching Kim work. It’s not so much a gearing down–the work is just as intense. It’s more like taking a breath, observing smaller detail and using a smaller grouping of muscles. I tend not to yell as much when I’m repairing windows. So much can be accomplished with patience. I wish I had more of it.

Half-ball

…is a ball and stick game played with a tennis ball cut in half and a broomstick. Follansbee used to play this urban game on the mean streets of Weymouth, MA.

In ye olden tymes, we’d dust off the dregs of a long day, find a wall to pitch against, and play this game with an old shop broom.

This traditional street game needs to be taught to our youth, even those from the verdant cul-de-sacs.

Here’s the windup and the proof that even joiners can throw a pretty good curve:

IMG_20140831_170236_409

Speaking

…of Follansbee…

Got an old, Elizabethan reproduction spring-pole lathe turned green oak bowling pin made by a renowned joiner/lecturer/author lying around but no time to bowl?

Try this at home!

DSC03092

Speaking

…of beards–

After a while you start shaving just so people stop dropping change in your coffee cup.

-Pret

DSC03276

Pret

…should market his innovative, recycled edge-tool covers.

Here’s an orange juice container covering the end of a little adze-

093

And here’s a tasty IPA package securing a saw blade:

065

RE2PECT

You’re a bum!

jeter

Wedge Bramhall

…was a great Plymouthian who left us this spring.

While his name suggests otherwise, he was anything but a divider.

If you’re in the neighborhood, stop by Bramhalls Country Store before they close for the season this Sunday, October 12.

DSC04078

Fall

…kept us busy canning tomatoes on the home front.

DSC03501

The grapes have been particularly sweet this year and there are lots and lots of acorns on the way.

The squirrels are going nuts.

And at a local living history attraction, autumn leaves are falling on old friends.

If you’re happen upon this image of Pret à Pilgrim, take a selfie and send it to BLUE OAK.

We’ll award something appropriate to the most creative submission!

IMG_0608

Old friend Alex caught up with 2-D Pret.

On-sitely humor:

That’s like a Finnish carpenter putting a Dutchman in a French door.

-Joe Chetwyn

DSC04107

 

My kid

…demonstrated his understanding of irony the other day:

DSC03585

 

 

blue-acorn11blue-acorn11blue-acorn11

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Years of academy training wasted…

  1. timberbee says:

    More Pret isms please!
    I asked Pret, one time, about a peg that was driven home in a frame he was test fitting, pretty much knowing what he would say (a long time ago when I was visiting Plymouth Plantation). His face contorted so delightfully as he was recreating the story. It might be really odd to say, but it was so nice. Pret is just so real 😀

  2. timberbee says:

    You have a great blog, Rick. Its really inspiring, and very good writing. I sit down and I read, and I remember, and it is so nice seeing you all do this. It helps me to connect with where I want to go with what I am learning right now, keeps me from getting so lost in the moment.
    Judging from what I see of other responses, I believe I am not at all alone in saying this.
    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

